The Shul building dates from 1932 and was designed by the distinguished Scottish architect James Miller towards the end of his career. It is a unique design and is now Grade B listed. The interior was remodelled in 1980 creating a communal hall on the ground floor and retaining the sanctuary in the upper floor. The interior was extensively renovated again in the period 2003/4, with the aid of a grant from the National Heritage Memorial Fund, a bequest from the Late Betty Franklin, and substantial donations by Mr & Mrs Edward Green and Mrs Enid Oppenheim Sandelson.
In 2012, the old Beit Hamidrash, along with the former Brides Room, classroom and hallway, was remodelled and refurbished to create a comfortable and spacious area for both men and women, and has become a warm, bright and inviting smaller synagogue where services are enjoyed on a cold winter Shabbat, on Friday nights, Sunday mornings and through the week when daily services for yahrzeits are held. The Beit Hamidrash project was made possible by the generous financial support of the current and former members, many of whom have retained links with the community.
At the rear of the building is a mikveh which was refurbished in 2003 with a grant from the Heritage Lottery Fund and serves the whole of the East of Scotland.
We are fortunate to have some wonderful stained glass windows including six by William Wilson, OBE, RSA, widely regarded as the most distinguished Scottish stained glass window artist of the post – war generation.
We also have paintings by our former member Samuel Robin Spark which he generously gifted to the community shortly before his death.